Best encryption technology that's resource-efficient?

I’m making a game, and am currently using AES. Would that be the best?

@LordLambda because you seem to know quite a lot about encryption.

Please read and sign Foot Shooting Prevention Agreement before continuing with this thread.

4 Likes

I am a noob at this kind of stuff, sorry if I upset you :frowning:

haha not upset, just a rare circumstance to use an extremely detailed XKCD comic.

5 Likes

Haha alright I’ll go for it. Really you should also worry about transmission of key. That’s the thing most people generally get wrong in production results. Insecure transmission of key, which no matter how strong of an encryption you have. Will be the downfall.

However resource efficient encryption? There’s quite a wide variety.
However my two favorite are for quick computational ciphers that are secure are RC5, and RC6.
RC5 has a minor attack (for the attack to work you need both the plaintext, and the ciphertext. AKA. you have to have the decrypted content) when done over 12 rounds (however this is only the case of 64 bits, so use a different bit size, or change number of rounds).
RC6 has no attacks documented on it.

Both are quite quick to compute, and secure. They are both implemented in bouncycastle.

why not an asymmectric thing such as RSA?

or PGP? Wait nvm eww norton

I’m not very good at encryption and all that but I recently made a super short python thing for my own thingy: https://gist.github.com/OscarOrSomething/690e3a56ccdc45d30f97

That unfortunately would take little to no time to break. So much that it would be extremely trivial. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

@wetsponge if I understand correctly, the code is a single ascii character?! If you can deduce from the structure of the sentence a SINGLE CHARACTER, that would be sooo easily broken, even if you don’t brute force it.